365 Days in Bliss

Thinking of 2012, I decided that I wanted to make this new year different. I decided to set myself the challenge to meditate every single day, for a minimum of 5 minutes and blog about it. There are two reasons behind this idea. The first is entirely selfish: I want to give myself a higher purpose for 2012, a reason to get up early and evolve my own yoga practise. This is an exciting part of my spiritual practise. The second reason is to share my journey. As a yoga teacher, the most common thing people ask me is “how do you meditate, how do you shut off your mind?” Most people assure me they simply can NOT meditate, though I often wonder what exactly they were trying to do that made it so impossible. I want to show people that there is always time to meditate, to connect to the higher self and the source and find a place of peace; that there are many simple methods that can make meditation easy and even fun! Hence the title, 365 days in bliss (rather than 365 days in boredom or torture).

I was wondering just how many different techniques of meditation I actually knew and how much research I would need to do when I saw my friend and fellow yogi, Luca. He gave me a Christmas present. A book, Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison. This book is a daily guide to finding a deeper yoga practice through the eight limbs of yoga of Patanjali. If that isn’t a sign, then I don’t know what is! When the universe speaks you need to pay attention and lately I feel as though my intuition was starting to speak stronger so I knew this was just the confirmation I needed to push me along on this journey.

It will be a challenge. Obviously, there will be some days when I feel like I don’t have the time, or I can’t think of a meditation to do, or I simply don’t feel like it. The idea is that there will always be at least 5 minutes, there will always be a slightly different variation to a breath technique, or a mantra, or a sutra to meditate with and there will only ever be myself to stand in my way. Another challenge will be the blogging process. As I will be travelling through Mexico in February and on board a boat in the Mentawai Islands of Indonesia for most of the year, there is limited internet access and some blogs will have to be uploaded up to two weeks late. This is something I hope I will be forgiven for. I can only offer my own word that I will maintain integrity and keep a detailed account of my experience to be uploaded when possible.

If I use guided meditations, I intend to share the details of publishers and links where these were found, along with music and any other information I learn along this journey. I hope that my experience will offer some insight into other practitioners and encourage others to share their experiences with me.

Let the journey in bliss begin…

Namaste

Leave a Reply

