Day 4 – meditating with music

A full day: Wake up, eat, drive an hour and a half to work from my brother’s place, work all day, sit in traffic for two hours to get to Yogatime Bondi Beach (yogatime.com.au), teach progressive yoga and then finally, before going home to make myself dinner, I find a space to meditate. After an hour and fifteen minutes of yoga, the room is warm and clear. I find it easy to sit up on my mat and I decide to listen to music for this meditation. I choose Yoga Harmony by Terry Oldfield and place all my attention on the woody sounds, imagining that each note is clearing my mind. Although the thoughts still happen, they pass through my mind like running water. I find it easier to let go of them without attachment and I believe it is because of the yoga and the music. Before long I feel as though I am gentle circling from my spine, as though it is moving ever-so slightly in a counter-clockwise direction. To look at me, it would almost be impossible to see the tiny movements but I can feel it occurring organically. Eventually I feel “the void”, the space of no thoughts. It is a comfortable emptiness where the entire body feels relaxed and light and the mind is finally at peace. It really does feel like a small gap in the universe where my mind has managed to squeeze into. Eventually, though I find myself thinking, “Oh look! I’m in the void!” and it starts to dissipate. It slowly becomes less and less strong and I feel it slipping away. It has become like a memory that you try so hard to remember but it’s just slipped your mind. Like the taste is on the tip of my tongue, but I can’t quite find the flavour.

I take a deep breath and I know the meditation has ended so I Om quietly and then pack away my mat with reverence as it is an important tool for me in creating a sacred space. For years I have been able to come to my yoga mat, sit on my heels with knees wide or together and bring my forehead to the floor. As soon as I find that dark quiet space and the smell of rubber, the world suddenly slows down and I can feel an automatic stillness.

I drive home and decide to buy myself a bottle of wine. This is worth mentioning simply because I did consider giving up alcohol this year, however I feel it is also important to remain balanced and have a realistic approach. This single bottle of wine will last me all week, as I will only have a glass every couple of days. I don’t drink excessively and the fact is, the average person enjoys wine, chocolate, sugar and pies just as much as the bliss of meditation and yoga and I don’t believe that the two should be mutually exclusive. I am a pescaterian, lactose intolerant yogi who meditates daily, enjoys a glass of wine and has a weakness for all forms of chocolate. Besides, I have already given up wheat .

Leave a Reply

