Day 33- commitment to bliss

On Tuesday and Thursday afternoons, Kim comes to the San Pedrito surf hotel to teach yoga. The class is just what I need- strong, slow flow. The whales are hanging around the beach, blowing spurts of water into the air or offering a tail here and there. I find my body just itching to move. It had been about three days of long car and bus rides without much yoga so every subtle stretch feels like an awakening. At the end of class, I tell Kim about 365 Days in Bliss and she is kind enough to offer a couple of her favourite meditation techniques. I am excited to try them out today…

But.

This whole travelling thing is exhausting. The problem with meditation and travel is that I have no routine. The more we move around, the harder it is for me to find time to sit in stillness and silence. Wednesday morning I struggle out of bed, make tea and stare at the ocean. We get in the car and I stare vacantly at the desert as we bump along the road to the San Jose del Cabo airport. Some of the sharp curves are making me anxious so I take a few drops of Bach Rescue Remedy. After the airport turn off, all signs disappear and the lack of planes in the area make us think we must be going the wrong way… Until I spot an air traffic control tower. Phew. Another few drops of rescue remedy. How much of this stuff can I take, I wonder?

Airports. Wow, they are fun aren’t they? There is always the excitement of going somewhere new, the possibility of a little duty free shopping, maybe a sneaky pre-flight drink… Then there is the waiting in line, the extra fees for the surfboards, wondering how my suitcase gained three kilos, the sub-standard food (which explains how I gained three kilos), the air conditioning that is always way too strong and the way they always make me empty my water bottle so I will inevitably be dehydrated before I even get on the flight. In-flight meditation… yes it is worthy for a longer flight but these 1-2 hour journeys promise that as soon as the safety demonstration is over we are already being told about our approaching descent in up to three languages. Then we arrive in our stopover. Two hours in Mexico City airport. Well, actually an hour waiting in line through more security screenings, while doing the ever-charming ‘why-didn’t-I-pee-on-the-plane’ dance as the person in front has to keep coming back to remove the belt, the boots, the scarf… We finally have enough time to get an overpriced soggy sandwich from Starbucks so that we can use their wi-fi when we are being called to board again. We come out in Oaxaca and wait in line for the shuttle bus, play surfboard/luggage Tetris, drive around the whole city to drop people off to hotels and then finally arrive at the bus station to stand in another line to get the final two seats on the bus to Puerto Escondido. The only two seats together are at the back, right in front of the toilet. Awesome. Cross the road, burn my tongue on an Aztec soup (tomato soup with tortilla, avocado and cheese), back to the bus station to wait, burn my hand on a Oaxaquena hot chocolate that I splash out of the cup when the surfboards unexpectedly slide out towards me and finally get on the bus. The brief moment of excitement when we realise our seats tilt way back is ruined when the people in front of us realise the exact same thing.

It is 10.30pm of Day 33. Today is a day of commitment. Today is the day when it almost didn’t happen. I get out my iPod to find some meditation tracks by Medicine Crow. I need something Earthy and grounding. A drum beat. I remember Medicine Crow saying that when you lose track of your centre, there is always an internal drum beat that can connect you to the earth and that beat is the heart. I close my eyes and find my breath. I remember the technique from Kim and start to inhale, turning my inner gaze into my head and then exhale, rolling my eyes back and taking that gaze into my heart. She mentioned that it is the roll of the eyes that feels particularly good, however after a few breaths, I just feel a little dizzy. I am on a moving bus, after all. I continue the meditation, just inhaling looking to the third eye centre, at the centre of the forehead and then exhaling, taking my attention to my heart. After about twenty minutes, I feel myself drifting off to sleep, so I sit up and take a few moments to ground by imagining a silver chord flowing deep into the earth and connecting me to the centre of the planet. I slowly open my eyes and remove my iPod. I reposition myself for sleep but wake up within twenty minutes because I need to go the bathroom and my foot has lost all feeling. Isn’t travelling great?

Note: Medicine Crow lives in Sydney and occasionally does Shaman work at Dance Central. I suggest you go check him out, he is one of the most amazing people I have seen speak and plays a really good drum.

Leave a Reply

