Day 36- sunny heart meditation

I don’t sunbake. On the boat, I spend most of my time trying to evade the sun and smothering myself in sunscreen. Even in the shade, the water reflects the sun back onto me and all it takes is for me to notice that it’s a sunny day outside and I brown up instantly. Since turning 25, I have had this premature obsession with skin care, so baking in the sun is not really something I do on purpose. Today is a beautiful day in Puerto Escondido and I have decided to lie in the sun and read a book. I lay my little towel out on the sand and try to position myself comfortably. With the book shading my face, I can enjoy the warmth of the sun without feeling too hot. I am reading The General in his Labyrinth by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I open to the first page and read: ‘Jose Palacios, his oldest servant, found him floating naked with his eyes open in the purifying waters of his bath and thought he had drowned. He know this was one of the many ways the General meditated…’ I take the book away and decide to meditate.

I close my eyes and let my bent knees rest together with my feet flat on the ground. This is a very relaxing position as it puts gentle pressure on the sacro-iliac joint, stimulating the parasympathetic nervous system. I take all the warmth of the sun into my heart and feel it fill my body. I meditate on the sun’s energy entering my heart space for about fifteen minutes before it becomes so unbearably hot that I need to run into the water. In the water, I try to stand still and continue the meditation but the waves are threatening to knock me over so I just close my meditation and enjoy the swim. I consider swimming out and trying the General’s meditation, but the waves probably wouldn’t let me do this so I think that particular technique may be better to try in flat water.

The afternoon we spend with our new friends, Monica and Adam at their beach bar, La Choza de Viernes. They look tired- apparently their Friday night crowd partied until 8am. I don’t envy their husky voices and tired eyes. I can’t keep my eyes open past midnight anymore! Monica makes the most amazing cocktails so we sit and enjoy some margaritas with the sunset, like we are straight out of the Corona ad. From Where You’d Rather Be…

Staring at the setting sun, I remember my meditation, how I felt the energy of the sun enter my heart, filling me with warmth. I truly feel like my small meditations are enriching my travelling experiences. It is all about mindfulness. Meditation creates awareness, keeps me more awake and observant of what is going on around me. The subtle sensations of being alive hold more meaning when I have had a moment to sit or lie or sunbake quietly by myself every day.

Another sunset.

Another fish taco.

Another day in bliss.

Leave a Reply

