Day 43- prana mudra

Another sleepless night- I woke up around 3am and couldn’t sleep again until sunrise. This happens to me about once a month. I start my daily yoga practice with hardly any energy in my body. I feel heavy and all I want to do is curl up into child’s pose and never come up again. I start slowly and then consult my mudra list. Today prana mudra seems appropriate. It helps to pump prana, life force, through the body.  I am almost gobsmacked how quickly this actually works. I am starting to flow a little faster and finally come down to savasana, feeling more at rest than the time I spent in bed struggling to sleep.

I sit up and find the mudra, allowing my hands to rest in my lap. Andrew is hungry and waiting for me so we can go to breakfast. I can feel him staring at me for a moment, then I hear him get up, drop something, clear his throat and make a few other noises before he settles down and grows silent again. None of this is distracting me though. I feel annoyed for less than a moment before I become so engrossed in my meditation that any noise becomes just part of the background. I am in the void and it feels so good I don’t want to leave. Eventually, though I can feel my own stomach grumble and hunger pulls me out.

At breakfast we decide to make a trip to Chacahua. Apparently there are waves there. We get ready and rumble into Zicatela beach on the Bumblebee. Andrew loses his hat going a crazy 40kph on the highway. The taxi ride is about an hour and a half to Zapotelito. There we meet Antonio who takes us in the lancha through the mangroves. We stay at the first cabana we find and Andrew is out the door, running to the wave before I have even taken my shoes off. I go down for a swim and then lie on the beach to read for the first time in days. You know a good holiday when you don’t have time to read any of the books you brought with you. The tide is coming in, though, and after shifting my towel back a few times I give up and go sit on our balcony. For the first time today I realise that I am not tired. I feel awake and alive, like prana is really flowing freely through my body. I settle in for a nice long night of sleep… that doesn’t come.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brett
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 22:37:06

    Enjoying the missives.
    Keep it up mate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

