Day 68- change the rhythms of your subconscious with Raja Yoga meditation

According to meditationsutras.com Raja Yoga is ‘dedicated to all the internal aspects of yoga. It is known as the Royal Yoga because it is the highest form of practice.’ Traditionally the meditation is interlaced with asana and pranayama so that any time the mind wonders or the body aches, the movements and breath can bring one back into alignment and easily back to meditation. This morning I just sit up straight on a lounge. It is comfortable enough that I can sit through the whole meditation. I read through a Raja Yoga meditation script on peace before closing my eyes. I hear the words echo through my mind and they constantly bring my mind back to the present.

The idea is that the subconscious mind is affected by the thoughts and speech it remembers. If you change the pattern of your thoughts then your subconscious in turn will change. We are constantly told about the power of positive thinking but truthfully it is hard work to manage each and every thought in our mind. But if you can change the place where thoughts are born, then maybe they will come out a little brighter on their own. Worth a try, isn’t it?

As I meditate on peace I set the intention to radiate peace to each and every person around me. It works. By afternoon I go to meet a friend who is told I already left for India. She leaves moments before I arrive in one of those ironic twists of life. Where I would usually feel frustration, instead I feel only peace… and a little amusement.

Raja Yoga meditation

20120308-192834.jpg

I am a peaceful soul…

I am a peaceful soul…

My mind is filled with peace…

I radiate peace to the world…

I feel the gentle waves of peace flowing across my mind…

As these peaceful thoughts emerge in my mind I feel the stillness and silence envelopes my mind…

I am the peaceful soul…

I am a peaceful loving soul…

My mind feels light and free from worries…

I realize my real nature is peace…

Peaceful thoughts flow through the mind and I feel the self becoming light…

I am a being of light shining like a star…

I radiate peace and light to the world…

The light and peace envelopes me and the waves of peace and light shine like a lighthouse…

 

Leave a Reply

