Day 157 – the art of tea

It is cold and windy, so the perfect day to sit by my brother’s fire and drink endless cups of tea. There is an art to tea. The different leaves, bags, tisanes, blends are like colours. Each delicate dried flower shades the flavour, adding subtle notes and characteristics. I have an entire cupboard filled with boxes, tins and jars of different teas. Early Grey, chai, green, rooibos, peppermint, lavender, rose, jasmine, Ayurvedic Vata tea, ginger, lemongrass, lemon… Tea pots in various sizes clutter the cupboard and there is always a thermos sitting in my car. Tea is a meditation in itself. To hold the steaming cup, warming the hands, take in the aroma, sip gently at the cup of perfection… and the world melts away. Nothing else matters, it is like the whole of consciousness is within the rim of the ceramic cup. The world always seems like a better place once I have a cuppa in hand. The warmth spills down, radiating through my body. I sit on the floor beside the fire, the cats curled up beside me. Still in my pyjamas, it is past noon as I sip and read. This is bliss. For once, I have nowhere to rush to, nothing to do and I can simply exist with this cup of Chilli Kiss (black tea with dried chilli flakes and cinnamon from T2). There are many truly great quotes about the Tao of Tea, so, here are some of my favourites…

I am in no way interested in immortality, but only in the taste of tea. -Lao T’ung

 

Each cup of tea represents an imaginary voyage.  -Catherine Douzel

Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company.  -Anonymous

Tea should be taken in solitude.  -C.S. Lewis

Tea is liquid wisdom.   -Anonymous

Great love affairs start with Champagne and end with tisane.  -Honoré de Balzac

Love and scandal are the best sweeteners of tea.  -Henry Fielding, “Love in Several Masques”

Tea…is a religion of the art of life.  -Okakura

Leave a Reply

